FATCA - Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act

The „Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA)“ was introduced on the 18th of March, 2010 as part of the „Hiring Incentives to Restore Employment“ (HIRE) Act by the American tax agency, IRS (Internal Revenue Service). The aim is to reinforce US Tax Reporting for foreign financial institutions to prevent tax evasion through foreign investment by US taxpayers. For this purpose, non-US financial service providers ("Foreign Financial Institutions" or “FFIs”) worldwide are virtually forced to sign a contract with the IRS to forward the customer and account data. Financial Institutions and their customers who are not willing to cooperate with the IRS will be charged a penalty tax of 30% of their US-based income (including sales proceeds). According to the latest publications (IRS Notice 2011_53 dated 07/14/2011), the deadline of the FATCA coming into effect has been extended by 6 months to 30.06.2013. From this point on, FATCA will apply to all US-related payments.

The FATCA Notice 2011-34 gives the best insight into the requirements of this act and also provides for a better understanding of the derivation of the impact on internal systems and processes of our customers reporting.

The key elements of FATCA are:

  • Comprehensive identification obligations of potential US accounts
  • Introduction of a penalty tax from 01.01.2014 in the amount of 30% in addition to the general US withholding tax
  • Publication of the "Proposed Regulations" is still scheduled for late 2011. The "Final Regulations" and the final version of the FFI and the Treaty Reporting forms for "Withholding Agent" and PFFIs are announced for the middle of next year (summer 2012)
  • The current QI contracts which expire on 31/12/2012 will be automatically extended until 31.12.2013

Effects of FATCA are:

a) When there is no FATCA Agreement:

  • 30% penalty tax on all income of all US customers (US and non US citizens including stocks)
  • Possible loss of the business relationship with " Compliant FFI's "

b) In the case of non-cooperative FFIs and Customers:

  • Separation up to the closure of this business

messer + schölles offers realization skills to structure and finalize accordant projects successfully.

  • Project management
  • Development of concepts
  • Testmanagement
  • Internal training

 

We look forward to hearing from you.

FATCA - Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act

FATCA - Diese fünf Buchstaben stehen für „Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act“. Diese Regelungen wurden am 18. März 2010 von der US-amerikanischen Steuerbehörde IRS (Internal Revenue Services) als Teil des „Hiring Incentives to Restore Employment“ (HIRE) Gesetzes eingeführt. Das Ziel ist es, das US-Steuer Reporting von ausländischen Finanzinstitutionen erheblich zu verschärfen, um dabei Steuerhinterziehung durch Auslandsinvestitionen von US-Steuerpflichtigen zu unterbinden. Hierzu werden Nicht US-Finanzdienstleister („Foreign Financial Institutions“ kurz FFIs) weltweit quasi gezwungen, einen Vertrag mit dem IRS zur Weiterleitung von Kunden- und Kontendaten abzuschließen. Für nicht kooperationswillige Finanzinstitutionen und deren Kunden wird eine Strafsteuer von 30% auf US-basierte Erträge (einschließlich Veräußerungserlösen) erhoben. Nach den aktuellsten Veröffentlichungen (IRS Notice 2011_53 vom 14.07.2011) wurde die Frist für das Inkrafttreten von FATCA um ein halbes Jahr auf den 30.06.2013 verlängert. Ab diesem Zeitpunkt ist FATCA auf alle Zahlungen mit US-Bezug anzuwenden.

Für das Verständnis von FATCA und die Ableitung der Auswirkungen auf die internen Systeme und Prozesse unserer auskunftspflichtigen Kunden, gibt die FATCA - Notice 2011-34 den besten Einblick in die Anforderungen. 

Die Kernpunkte der Vorschrift im Einzelnen:

  • Umfassende Identifizierungspflichten von potenziellen US-Konten
  • Einführung einer Strafsteuer ab 1.01.2014 in Höhe von 30% zusätzlich zur allgemeine US – Quellensteuer
  • Die Veröffentlichung der „Proposed Regulations“ ist weiterhin für Ende 2011 geplant. Die „Final Regulations“ und die finale Version des FFI-Vertrags und der Reporting Formulare für „Withholding Agents“ und PFFIs wurden für Sommer 2012 angekündigt.
  • Die aktuellen QI-Verträge, die am 31.12.2012 auslaufen, werden automatisch bis zum 31.12.2013 verlängert.

Auswirkungen:

a) wenn kein FATCA Agreement besteht:

  • 30 % Strafsteuer auf sämtliche US Erträge aller Kunden (US und nicht US Bürger sowie eigene Bestände)
  • Eventueller Verlust der Geschäftsbeziehung mit „Compliant FFI’s“

b) bei unkooperativen FFIs bzw. Kunden:

  • Separierung bis hin zur Schließung dieser Geschäftsverbindung

messer + schölles bietet seinen Kunden die Umsetzungskompetenz, um die Themen in entsprechenden Projekten strukturiert und effizient anzugehen und erfolgreich abzuschließen.

  • Projektleitung
  • Fachliche Konzeption
  • Testkonzeption und - durchführung
  • Schulungskonzeption

 

Wir freuen uns über Ihre Kontaktaufnahme.